Whenever I need to do development work with teamsite, I use the following tools:

NetBeans IDE

Image representing NetBeans as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

This editor lets me do Java, Perl, XSL, XML, HTML, Javascript, CSS and text

editing in general.

JD Gui

This is a java de-compiler, for looking under the hood of java applications

Putty + Putty Connection Manager

This allows me to do open secure terminals to the Teamsite servers

WinSCP

This allows me to do secure copying of files from the teamsite servers to my local development machine.

Internet Explorer Developer toolbar / Firebug

This is to quickly look at sections of pages and look at the DOM quickly. It also helps with CSS.

Interwoven Workflow Modeller

This is to develop new workflow models.

The Regex Coach

I use this to ensure my regular expressions are always accurate. It’s a brilliant tool.

Comments
  1. Cris says:

    hmmn can you use NetBeans for perl?? i thought the plugin isn’t ready yet? http://code.google.com/p/nbperl/

  2. You don’t need a plugin to develop in Perl… a Perl script is nothing than a text file… Having said that, with a perl plugin you’d have all the good stuff of code completion and the like… I’ll watch this space.

  3. Cris says:

    I thought you actually had a plugin or you developed your own,i wouldn’t be surprised if you did ;). but yeah, outside NetBeans, TextPad is my only friend!

  4. I stwitched from TextPad to pspad (http://www.pspad.com/) and i haven’t had to open it since I made the move to netbeans…

    Writing a module for NetBeans? yeah, eventually… it’s just there’s so much stuff to write before!

Leave a Reply

