_blank target versus window.open

Posted: 14 October 2009 in FormsPublisher, Teamsite, Worfklow models, Workflows
Tags: , , ,

I normally do not recommend using a window.open javascript command when a simple target=”_blank” would do. However, I got burnt with my own policy the othe day when I used a teamsite URL command to have the user create a new DCR. I thought I would open a new window to call the command and finish with &done_page=/iw-cc/teamsite/common/close_window.html

At the end, Window Internet Explorer (oh, no – not again!) prompts a dialog if I agree to closing the window. This does not happen with an onClick=”window.open(…)” so now I’ve got to update my component to make so.

If works fine as it is in Firefox but I can’t ask 300 editors to make the switch for a browser which is not “company policy”. Microsoft, the more if goes, the more I hate you.

[picapp src=”0/2/c/5/56th_International_Advertising_db25.jpg?adImageId=5508751&imageId=5031723″ width=”250″ height=”250″ /]

Leave a Reply

