locking models

Posted: 27 July 2011 in Uncategorized

Below is a description of the locking models:

Submit lock => The file can be modified if the user is the owner of the lock in the current workarea or if there is no lock on the file. Users in other workareas can edit their version of the file whilst the file is locked but will not be able to submit it before the file has been submitted. This allows for parallel development on files in parallel workareas.

Optional write lock => The file can be modified if the user is the owner of the lock in the current workarea or if there is no lock on the file. Users in other workareas cannot edit their version of the file whilst the file is locked. This allows parallel development on files that are not locked and forces serialisation of changes on locked files.

Mandatory write lock => the file cannot be written to unless the user has acquired a lock on it in the current workarea. Users in other workareas cannot edit their version of the file whilst the file is locked. This prevents parallel development and forces serialisation of changes on files.

Things to know:

  • The locking model in effect for a user in a branch is the most restrictive locking model between the branch locking model and the least restrictive role locking model of the applicable roles of the user in the branch. Thee submit locking model is teh least restrictive and the mandatory locking model is the most restrictive.
  • The Content Center interface will always attempt to lock a file when modifying it. Note that Content Center is not the only way to edit files. (access to the Y: drive or CSSDK can also modify files)
  • The local files applet can upload files and unlock them.
  • A user can release the file locks it has acquired if its role has the UnlockFiles privilege.
  • A user cannot remove unlock files when he/she is not the lock owner.
  • The workarea owner can unlock files in the workarea, whether it owns the lock or not.
  • User who have the permission override “View and modify files in workareas where they are not a member of the group designated for sharing” can unlock files in the workarea, whether it owns the lock or not.
  • Once a branch has been created, its locking model cannot be changed.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s